Complicit by Nicci French

I enjoy reading the Nicci French collaborations and over the years have read nearly all of their books. I decided to read the remaining three unread books from their earlier work starting with ‘Complicit’.

Bonnie Graham is alone in her friend’s flat apart from a dead body lying in a pool of blood. Bonnie is unsure of what happened and whose fault it was as well as how to play the situation. Music teacher Bonnie has spent the summer rehearsing with her band but rather than been fun, friendships became taut and what was meant to be a summer of happiness, music and love turns deadly as lovers betray, passions turn homicidal and friendship itself becomes a crime. Someone in the band must be a killer. But who?

There were plenty of signs of what was to come from Nicci Gerrard and Sean French but this one didn’t quite develop into the book I was hoping for. Good characters but I felt it dragged a little.

I was never expecting the heights of later novels but hoped for a little more than this.

2 thoughts on “Complicit by Nicci French

  1. I’ve read 2 Nicci French books, Blue Monday which I thought was very good and The Lying Room which I didn’t enjoy as much. Should I continue through the Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, etc. books?

    Like

Leave a comment