The Syndicate by G.J. Minett

The Syndicate

I came across this author when I read ‘The Hidden Legacy’ and was totally hooked and have read everything released since. I really enjoy Graham Minett’s writing and the fascinating characters he invents. Of all the four books I have read by this author the synopsis of this one had the least attraction but wasn’t put off because I know how much I enjoy his work. I needn’t have worried as this book was again a great read and I finished it in one sitting. Great characters and a nicely paced plot.

Jon Kavanagh worked for the crime syndicate and twenty years ago he decided to disobey his orders when he refused to kill a witness at the crime scene. He remains haunted by the memories of the girl he let live and her face is a constant reminder of the life he led. With these feelings inside him he wants to know what happened to her.

A young singer named Anna Hill has ambitions to be a famous singer but currently makes her way working the bars and clubs hoping to find recognition. So when an opening appears in Portugal she sees a glimmer of hope for the career she dreams of. But when she becomes involved in the syndicate her life and the people she cares for are all at risk.

I really enjoyed the character of the gritty contract killer Jon Kavanagh and his fight to break away from the syndicate while easing his conscience. This novel is a little different from the novels I have read recently but don’t be put off by the mention of gangs etc because this is a very good novel and has a lot to offer.

Very good read.

Leave a comment